Understanding MACRA

Get the Facts about MACRA

Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA)

The Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA) became law in 2015. As part of that action, the Quality Payment Program was created.

MIPS specifically replaces Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS), the Value Modifier Program, and the Medicare Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Program.

The Quality Payment Program (QPP) is divided into two paths:

1. Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS)

MIPS Resources and Further Reading

2. Advanced Alternative Payment Models (APM)

  1. MIPS APMs
  2. Advanced APMs
  3. Advanced and MIPS APMs
  4. All-payer/Other Payer Option
    In 2019 eligible clinicians are able to become Qualifying Alternative Payment Model Participant (QPs) through the All-Payer Option. This is attainable through participation in a combination of Advanced APMs with Medicare and other payer Advanced APMs.

APM Resources and Further Reading

MACRA Resources and Further Reading